the hunt

I’m dating a boy. Well, a man. Okay no, I take that back. I’m a girl, dating a boy. He makes me laugh a lot. He holds my hand sometimes. He’s been known to give me a flower or two. He even tells me he loves me.

This is mostly irrelevant, and I’ll tell you why.

HE HAS A KITCHEN.

It’s a glorious, glorious, cycle of love that me and this boy have going. You see, he loves to eat. And, if you couldn’t figure this much out, I love to cook. When we get together, magical things happen. Like these sweet potato fries. Were you thinking of something else?

So basically sweet potatoes are my current obsession. I have this problem, you see, where I get easily obsessed with things. Like television shows during finals. Or blogs. Or guacamole. Or caprese. Generally its food things. Like sweet potatoes.

So I went to see Jordan (that’s the boy) and I decided that I was going to complete our little love cycle of food preparation and consumption. So I made him some yummy Greek pitas I’ll have to tell you about later, and on the side, these sweet potato fries.

I made them look cool and artsy with my editing… Do I lose cool and artsy points by telling you I tried to make them cool and artsy? Probably… oh well. Its sort of my life goal to be cool and artsy… so ya. I edited that picture… in an attempt to make sweet potatoes cool and artsy. But they kind of look like they’re aflame….

Anywho….

These sweet potato fries are really just raw sweet potatoes, peeled, sliced, tossed with olive oil, salt, and some pepper, put on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil, and baked at 400 degrees for… 20 minutes? I just kept checking them until they tasted good. I might let them go a bit longer next time, so they’re crispier. But really, they were delicious. Just olive oil, salt, and pepper, really let the sweetness in the potato stand on its own… Just what you want. No tricks, no trades… Just yummy sweet potatoes. They’re even easier if you find boys to cut them up for you, too.

One thought on “the hunt

  1. Naomi Rhode says:

    I LOVE SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE MY KIND OF GAL!!
    (WHO EVER YOU ARE?)! 🙂 Karl’s Amma
    Love the picture at the top of your blog also!

Leave a comment